United Kingdom House of Commons Speeches Collection, volume 3


This is the third LibriVox collection of speeches given in the House of Commons of the United Kingdom. The collection comprises recordings of 10 historic speeches given to the UK House of Commons between 1601 and 1960. Readings are of speeches originally given by Queens Elizabeth I and Victoria, and by parliamentarians Edmund Burke, Herbert Asquith, Winston Churchill, Barbara Castle, Margaret Thatcher and Michael Foot. (Summary by Ruth Golding)

Genre(s): Literary Collections, Political Science

Language: English

Group: UK Parliamentary Speeches

Section Chapter Author Source Reader Time Language
Play 01 Farewell Speech Queen Elizabeth I Etext Rhonda Federman
00:07:08 en
Play 02 Speech on conciliation with America, 1775 (part 1) Edmund Burke Etext cottonwoodhead
01:11:37 en
Play 03 Speech on conciliation with America, 1775 (part 2) Edmund Burke Etext cottonwoodhead
01:02:22 en
Play 04 Addressing the House of Commons, Meeting of Parliament, 1849 Queen Victoria Etext Snapdragon
00:04:46 en
Play 05 Speech at the outset of the First World War, 1914 Herbert Asquith Etext Daniel Vimont
00:22:54 en
Play 06 Speech on the Abdication of King Edward the VIII, House of Commons, 1936 Winston S. Churchill Etext Snapdragon
00:05:15 en
Play 07 First speech as Prime Minister, 1940 'Blood, Toil, Tears and Sweat' Winston S. Churchill Etext Daniel Vimont
00:06:12 en
Play 08 Speech on Korea Barbara Castle Etext Cori Samuel
00:22:38 en
Play 09 Speech on Attendance at Council Meetings Margaret Thatcher Etext Cori Samuel
00:18:59 en
Play 10 Speech on Nuclear Weapons Michael Foot Etext Jason Mills
00:06:58 en