Under the Lilacs (version 3, dramatic reading)

Louisa May Alcott (1832 - 1888)

When a raggedy boy from the circus limps into the lives of the Moss family, he is unlike any child they have ever met. With his devoted and clever dog, Sancho, at his side, Ben’s amazing stunts from the big top and kindly, eager persona win the hearts of the Mosses, as well as the nurturing affection of his new mistress, Miss Celia, and the friendship of her spoiled brother, Thornton. From birthday parties to broken bones, times of triumph to times of tragedy, the group sticks together through it all in this heart-warming children’s story by Louisa May Alcott. (Summary by Twinkle)

Cast List:
Narrated by Christine Lehman
Ben Brown: Aaron M. Lebowitz
Bab Moss: Rachel
Betty Moss: SuperCoconut
Miss Celia: Lian Pang
Thorny: Kangaroo692
Mrs. Moss: Beth Thomas
Mr. Brown, Billy Barton: Tomas Peter
Sam Kitteridge: Teresa Bauman
Alfred Barlow: Paige Al Qasem
Sancho: Esther ben Simonides

Other characters voiced by Teresa Bauman, Lilith Branda, Jarek Celuch, Edgard Coronado, Charlotte Duckett, Gaby, KHand, Kalynda, Lydia, Ross McGrath, Adele de Pignerolles, Sonia, SuperCoconut, Twinkle, and Leanne Yau

Audio edited by Michele Eaton, Aaron M. Lebowitz, Christine Lehman, and Twinkle

Genre(s): Historical

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Dramatis Personae 00:02:34
Play 01 Chapter 1: A Mysterious Dog Group 00:20:08
Play 02 Chapter 2: Where They Found His Master Group 00:12:49
Play 03 Chapter 3: Ben Group 00:13:31
Play 04 Chapter 4: His Story Group 00:10:53
Play 05 Chapter 5: Ben Gets a Place Group 00:15:49
Play 06 Chapter 6: A Circulating Library Group 00:10:35
Play 07 Chapter 7: New Friends Trot In Group 00:17:37
Play 08 Chapter 8: Miss Celia's Man Group 00:16:21
Play 09 Chapter 9: A Happy Tea Group 00:20:46
Play 10 Chapter 10: A Heavy Trouble Group 00:12:27
Play 11 Chapter 11: Sunday Group 00:36:39
Play 12 Chapter 12: Good Times Group 00:26:10
Play 13 Chapter 13: Somebody Runs Away Group 00:24:08
Play 14 Chapter 14: Somebody Gets Lost Group 00:34:53
Play 15 Chapter 15: Ben's Ride Group 00:28:47
Play 16 Chapter 16: Detective Thornton Group 00:27:02
Play 17 Chapter 17: Betty's Bravery Group 00:29:05
Play 18 Chapter 18: Bows and Arrows Group 00:19:11
Play 19 Chapter 19: Speaking Pieces Group 00:23:16
Play 20 Chapter 20: Ben's Birthday Group 00:20:26
Play 21 Chapter 21: Cupid's Last Appearance Group 00:23:14
Play 22 Chapter 22: A Boy's Bargain Group 00:20:39
Play 23 Chapter 23: Somebody Comes Group 00:19:50
Play 24 Chapter 24: The Great Gate is Opened Group 00:23:50