The Story of King Arthur, in Twelve Tales

Winona Caroline MARTIN (1882 - 1918)

Of all the legends of bygone ages which we in the foremost ranks of time may call our own perhaps none have come to us so fraught with the spirit of lofty idealism as those which cluster about the figure of King Arthur of Britain and the mystic Quest of the Holy Grail.

In their devious wanderings down the centuries they have gradually been purified of all original coarseness while still retaining that wonderful charm and simplicity which belongs to the tales of the childhood of the race. Furthermore, upon the lips of many a bard, both ancient and modern, they have become literature, so that they are now the rightful heritage of the child of to-day and should, in one form or another, find a place in every class room as supplementary reading at least.

Because, for obvious reasons, in dealing with young children, the versions of the masters have not always proved practicable, the author has ventured to offer this little volume which grew out of a library story-hour trusting that it may be useful to mothers, teachers, children’s librarians and others who are endeavouring to hold before the children of a materialistic age that vision without which the people perish. - Summary by Winona Caroline Martin

Genre(s): Action & Adventure

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Heroes, by Gertrude C. Hopkins RussellEric
Play 01 Tale I - Merlin and His Prophecies Scotty Smith
Play 02 Tale II - How Arthur Won His Kingdom RussellEric
Play 03 Tale III - How Arthur Won His Sword 'Excalibur', His Bride and His Round Table Mindle Hastings
Play 04 Tale IV - Gareth the Kitchen Knave RussellEric
Play 05 Tale V - Geraint with the Sparrow-Hawk Morgan Z. Sowell
Play 06 Tale VI - Tristram the Forest Knight Mindle Hastings
Play 07 Tale VII - The Adventures of Launcelot c8tchoi
Play 08 Tale VIII - The Dolorous Stroke Foon
Play 09 Tale IX - The Coming of Galahad RussellEric
Play 10 Tale X - The Quest of the Holy Grail Rachel Maguire
Play 11 Tale XI - The Achieving of the Quest Rachel Maguire
Play 12 Tale XII - The Passing of Arthur Rachel Maguire