The Secret Garden (version 4 dramatic reading)

Frances Hodgson Burnett (1849 - 1924)

Frances Hodgson Burnett's classic children's novel is about orphaned Mary Lennox, who is sent to live with her uncle at Misslethwaite Manor in Yorkshire. Initially a sour, bad-tempered child, Mary begins to bloom under the influence of nature when she discovers a long-abandoned garden on the grounds of her uncle's estate. Burnett's novel is brought to life by LibriVox volunteers who lend their voices to her characters. (Summary by Elizabeth Klett)

Narrator/Martha: Elizabeth Klett
Mary Lennox: Arielle Lipshaw
Mrs. Lennox: Caprisha Page
Colonel McGrew/Dr. Craven: Tyler Harms
Basil/Mrs. Sowerby: Victoria Martin
Mrs. Crawford: Availle
Officer's Wife: Pamela Krantz
Archibald Craven: Alex Lau
Mrs. Medlock: Grace Garrett
Station Master: Martin Geeson
Ben Weatherstaff: Andy Minter
Dickon: Charlotte Duckett
Colin Craven: Amanda Friday
Nurse: Kara Shallenberg
Mr. Roach: John Trevithick
Lilias Craven: Eden Rea-Hedrick

Audio edited by: Elizabeth Klett

Genre(s): Children's Fiction, Dramatic Readings

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 There Is No One Left Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 02 Mistress Mary Quite Contrary Group 00:15:00
Play 03 Across the Moor Group 00:08:15
Play 04 Martha Group 00:30:32
Play 05 The Cry in the Corridor Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 06 There Was Someone Crying - There Was! Group 00:12:09
Play 07 The Key to the Garden Group 00:11:38
Play 08 The Robin Who Showed the Way Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 09 The Strangest House Anyone Ever Lived In Group 00:16:37
Play 10 Dickon Group 00:20:56
Play 11 The Nest of the Missel Thrush Group 00:13:30
Play 12 Might I Have a Bit of Earth? Group 00:15:03
Play 13 I Am Colin Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 14 A Young Rajah Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 15 Nest Building Group 00:20:27
Play 16 I Won't, Said Mary Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 17 A Tantrum Group 00:13:09
Play 18 Tha' Munnot Waste No Time Group 00:12:12
Play 19 It Has Come! Group 00:19:10
Play 20 I Shall Live Forever - And Ever - And Ever! Group 00:15:31
Play 21 Ben Weatherstaff Group 00:19:49
Play 22 When the Sun Went Down Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 23 Magic Group 00:24:20
Play 24 Let Them Laugh Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 25 The Curtain Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 26 It's Mother! Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett
Play 27 In the Garden Elizabeth Klett
Charlotte Duckett