The Seasons

James Thomson (1700 - 1748)

The Seasons is a series of four long poems in blank verse by the Scottish poet James Thomson, each poem describing one of the four seasons. The poems are replete with various scenes of nature described with loving detail, as well as Thomson's view of the proper relationship between humans and nature, which anticipates the attitudes of the Romantics. "Spring," which was published in 1728, first brought Thomson to mainstream attention. He followed it up with "Summer," "Winter," and "Autumn," publishing all four as The Seasons in 1730. It is in large part because of the reputation he garnered from the publication of The Seasons that the critic William Hazlitt called Thomson "the best and most original of our descriptive poets." (Summary by Abe Nemon)

Genre(s): Poetry

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Life of James Thomson Abe Nemon
Play 01 Spring - Part I Abe Nemon
Play 02 Spring - Part II Abe Nemon
Play 03 Summer - Part I Abe Nemon
Play 04 Summer - Part II Abe Nemon
Play 05 Autumn - Part I Abe Nemon
Play 06 Autumn - Part II Abe Nemon
Play 07 Winter - Part I Abe Nemon
Play 08 Winter - Part II Abe Nemon
Play 09 A Hymn Abe Nemon