The Masquerader

Katherine Cecil Thurston (1875 - 1911)

The Masquerader is one of two Katherine Cecil Thurston’s books that appeared on the Publisher’s Weekly best-seekers list in 1905 (The other, The Gambler, is also in the Librivox collection). The Masquerader is part mystery, part romance and part political thriller – all tied up in one neat package. Nature has a way of sometimes making two people nearly indistinguishable in appearance. Such is the premise for this book. John Chilcote, a British politician, and John Loder, a man down on his luck meet by accident one night during one of London’s worst fogs. Chilcote, addicted to morphine, needs to escape his political responsibilities and presents an offer to Loder to exchange places occasionally. Loder, reluctant at first, finally accepts the proposal and finds he fits into Chilcote’s role – perhaps better than Chilcote himself. The exchanges become more frequent and lengthy. Loder, finding his way, discovers he is worthy of Chilcote’s position, especially during an international crisis, but when Chilcote reclaims his life, Loder’s accomplishments try to unravel. Two women are intimately involved in this story – one is Chilcote’s wife, Eve, who is a wife of convenience rather than love. The second is Lady Astrupp. We will say little about Lady Astrupp except that she adds a great deal of suspense to the story. In such a charade, things do not always go as expected. Does Chilcote break his drug habit? What becomes of Loder? Does Eve become suspicious as a wife might? Is the masquerade exposed by……but then I would be telling you more than you should know beforehand. (Summary by Tom Weiss)

Genre(s): Crime & Mystery Fiction, Romance, Suspense, Espionage, Political & Thrillers

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 01 - Chapters 1 through 3 Tom Weiss
Play 02 02 - Chapters 4 through 6 Tom Weiss
Play 03 03 - Chapters 7 through 9 Tom Weiss
Play 04 04 - Chapters 10 through 12 Tom Weiss
Play 05 05 - Chapters 13 through 15 Tom Weiss
Play 06 06 - Chapters 16 through 18 Tom Weiss
Play 07 07 - Chapters 19 through 21 Tom Weiss
Play 08 08 - Chapters 22 through 24 Tom Weiss
Play 09 09 - Chapters 25 through 27 Tom Weiss
Play 10 10 - Chapters 28 through 30 Tom Weiss
Play 11 11 - Chapters 21 through 34 Tom Weiss