The Man Who Knew Too Much

G. K. Chesterton (1874 - 1936)

Gilbert Keith Chesterton (1874-1936) was an influential and prolific English writer of the early 20th century. He was a journalist, a poet and a novelist. He wrote 80 books and 200 short stories in addition to his other work. He is perhaps best remembered for his ‘Father Brown’ stories; two collections of which are available at

‘The Man Who Knew Too Much’ has some similarities to the Father Brown stories: Horne Fisher the eponymous hero is connected and indeed related to many of the high-ranking politicians of his age and thus ‘knows too much’ about the background of the mysteries in which he becomes embroiled and which he unravels. (Summary by Martin Clifton)

Genre(s): Detective Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Chapter 1 – The face in the target Martin Clifton
Play 02 Chapter 2 – The vanishing prince Martin Clifton
Play 03 Chapter 3 – The soul of the schoolboy Martin Clifton
Play 04 Chapter 4 – The bottomless well Martin Clifton
Play 05 Chapter 5 – The fad of the fisherman Martin Clifton
Play 06 Chapter 6 – The hole in the wall Martin Clifton
Play 07 Chapter 7 – The temple of silence Martin Clifton
Play 08 Chapter 8 – The vengeance of the statue Martin Clifton