The Loot Of Cities

Arnold Bennett (1867 - 1931)

Published in 1917, this is a collection of a novella and seven short stories by one of the cleverest authors of the early twentieth century. ‘In Queen's Quorum (1951), a survey of crime fiction, Ellery Queen listed Bennett's The Loot of Cities among the 100 most important works in the genre. This collection of stories recounts the adventures of a millionaire who commits crimes to achieve his idealistic ends. Although it was "one of his least known works," it was nevertheless "of unusual interest, both as an example of Arnold Bennett's early work and as an early example of dilettante detectivism".’ - Summary by David Wales

Genre(s): Detective Fiction, Single Author Collections

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 The Loot Of Cities: Chapter 1 The Fire Of London David Wales
Play 02 The Loot Of Cities: Chapter 2 A Comedy On The Gold Coast David Wales
Play 03 The Loot Of Cities: Chapter 3 A Bracelet At Bruges David Wales
Play 04 The Loot Of Cities: Chapter 4 A Solution Of The Algiers Mystery David Wales
Play 05 The Loot Of Cities: Chapter 5 In The Capital Of The Sahara David Wales
Play 06 The Loot Of Cities: Chapter 6 ‘Lo! ‘Twas A Gala Night!’ David Wales
Play 07 Mr. Penfound’s Two Burglars. The Story Of His Walk With Them David Wales
Play 08 Midnight At The Grand Babylon David Wales
Play 09 The Police Station David Wales
Play 10 The Adventure Of The Prima Donna David Wales
Play 11 The Episode In Room 222 David Wales
Play 12 Saturday To Monday David Wales
Play 13 A Dinner At The Louvre David Wales