The Little Colonel in Arizona

Annie Fellows Johnston (1863 - 1931)

In The Little Colonel in Arizona the story is centered around the Ware family, who, after their husband and father has died, and due to the mother's illness, have to move from Kentucky to Arizona. Joyce now has to take most of the responsibility for holding the family together. She is having difficulties in coming to terms with the family's new existence, feeling lonely and that her dreams for the future will never come true. But when she learns to know an invalid at Lee's Ranch who tells her the “Legend of Camelback Mountain”, and she learns the “Lesson of the Bees”, she begins to see a new hope growing

A letter to Lloyd, “the Little Colonel”, has the effect that she comes to visit the Ware's at their Wigwam for a month. Here she meets the handsome and likeable Phil Tremont who stirs something in her heart, and she wonders if he might be the one written in the stars for her. But Phil, kind and likeable as he is, has his own problems and has to learn to handle them and to learn the “Legend of Alaka and the lost turquoises”.

Another important person who we get to know more of in this story is the talkative and entertaining little Mary Ware, who has an important role in other, later stories. (Summary by Lars Rolander)

Genre(s): Children's Fiction, Family

Language: English

Group: The Little Colonel Series

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 01 - Mary Tells All She Knows Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 02 02 - A Robinson Crusoe of the Desert Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 03 03 - A Day at School Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 04 04 - Ware's Wigwam Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 05 05 - What a Letter Brought About Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 06 06 - Wash-Day and Washington Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 07 07 - A Surprise Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 08 08 - In the Desert of Waiting Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 09 09 - Lloyd's Duck Hunt Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 10 10 - The School of the Bees Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 11 11 - The New Boarder at Lee's Ranch Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 12 12 - Phil Has a Finger in the Pie Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 13 13 - A Change of Fortune Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 14 14 - The Lost Turquoises Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 15 15 - Lost on the Desert Lars Rolander (1942-2016)
Play 16 16 - Back to Dixie Lars Rolander (1942-2016)