The Life and Adventures of Michael Armstrong, the Factory Boy

Frances Milton TROLLOPE (1779 - 1863)

The industrial revolution led to the rise of manufacture and, thus, the cotton mill factories. This important novel tells about the plight of Michael Armstrong, one of the boys who is forced to work there. The aim of the novel was to expose the public to the conditions of thousands of "infant labourers" around the northern mill towns. The novel drew much criticism, of course. Yet, nonetheless, it is a forgotten masterpiece, perfect for fans of Oliver Twist and North and South. It is a brave novel, full of truth and honesty, yet probably not for the faint of heart. - Summary by Stav Nisser.

Genre(s): General Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Preface Celine Major
00:03:36
Play 01 Chapter I Celine Major
00:24:26
Play 02 Chapter II Celine Major
00:43:28
Play 03 Chapter III Celine Major
00:31:11
Play 04 Chapter IV Celine Major
00:28:15
Play 05 Chapter V Celine Major
00:21:26
Play 06 Chapter VI Celine Major
00:45:17
Play 07 Chapter VII Celine Major
00:12:57
Play 08 Chapter VIII Celine Major
00:34:24
Play 09 Chapter IX Celine Major
00:31:19
Play 10 Chapter X - Part 1 Celine Major
00:23:56
Play 11 Chapter X - Part 2 Celine Major
00:26:57
Play 12 Chapter XI Celine Major
00:34:14
Play 13 Chapter XII Celine Major
00:39:34
Play 14 Chapter XIII Celine Major
00:33:30
Play 15 Chapter XIV Celine Major
00:26:07
Play 16 Chapter XV Celine Major
00:16:09
Play 17 Chapter XVI Celine Major
00:29:14
Play 18 Chapter XVII Celine Major
00:43:22
Play 19 Chapter XVIII Celine Major
00:27:56
Play 20 Chapter XIX Celine Major
00:42:58
Play 21 chapter XX Celine Major
00:24:05
Play 22 Chapter XXI Celine Major
00:44:49
Play 23 Chapter XXII - Part 1 Celine Major
00:26:31
Play 24 Chapter XXII - Part 2 Celine Major
00:28:06
Play 25 Chapter XXIII Celine Major
00:24:03
Play 26 Chapter XXIV Celine Major
00:45:17
Play 27 Chapter XXV Celine Major
00:32:47
Play 28 Chapter XXVI Celine Major
00:23:26
Play 29 Chapter XXVII - Part 1 Celine Major
00:33:41
Play 30 Chapter XXVII - Part 2 Celine Major
00:40:03
Play 31 Chapter XXVIII Celine Major
00:37:34
Play 32 Chapter XXIX Celine Major
00:18:09
Play 33 Chapter XXX - Part 1 Celine Major
00:24:50
Play 34 Chapter XXX - Part 2 Celine Major
00:25:09
Play 35 Chapter XXXI Celine Major
00:38:40
Play 36 Chapter XXXII Celine Major
00:25:28
Play 37 Chapter XXXIII Celine Major
00:22:52