The Happy Prince and Other Tales (version 3)

Oscar Wilde (1854 - 1900)

A collection of five stories by Oscar Wilde, all incorporating his inimitable style and wit. Sometimes sweet and uplifting, sometimes caustic and pointed, they all are well worth listening to. The Happy Prince is a beautiful tale about a statue of a prince, but one who can now see his city and kingdom and the sadness of his people. With the help of a little swallow he does what he can to help others. The Nightingale and the Rose is a tale of self sacrifice, selfishness and misunderstanding. The Selfish Giant learns a valuable lesson about the laughter of children, The Devoted Friend is a caustic tale about false friendship, and The Remarkable Rocket explores the self delusion of people (and rockets) who think the world revolves around them. Summary by Phil chenevert

Genre(s): Myths, Legends & Fairy Tales

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 The Happy Prince Phil Chenevert
Play 02 The Nightingale and the Rose Phil Chenevert
Play 03 The Selfish Giant Phil Chenevert
Play 04 The Devoted Friend Phil Chenevert
Play 05 The Remarkable Rocket Phil Chenevert