The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories

E. F. Benson (1867 - 1940)

A collection of fourteen short stories, grouped under the headings of "Blackmailing Stories", "Spook Stories", "Cat Stories", "Crank Stories", and "General Stories". From the preface: "[S]uch readers as are in search merely of the lighter...aspects of life, will be able to avoid like poison so innocent-looking a title as "The Countess of Lowndes Square," for surely they would not find therein the fashionable descriptions of high life which they might reasonably anticipate, but would merely cast the book from them in disgust, when they discovered that one who had been the wife of an Earl, and ought therefore to have known ever so much better, belonged to the most contemptible of the criminal classes." - Summary by Devorah Allen

Genre(s): Single Author Collections

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Preface Zechariah Raman
Play 01 Blackmailing Stories, Chapter 1: The Countess of Lowndes Square jimsvox4
Play 02 Blackmailing Stories, Chapter 2: The Blackmailer of Park Lane jimsvox4
Play 03 Blackmailing Stories, Chapter 2: The Blackmailer of Park Lane, continued jimsvox4
Play 04 General Stories, Chapter 1: The Dance on the Beefsteak Kate Follis
Play 05 General Stories, Chapter 2: The Oriolists Michele McFarland
Play 06 General Stories, Chapter 3: In the Dark jimsvox4
Play 07 General Stories, Chapter 4: The False Step Kate Follis
Play 08 Spook Stories, Chapter 1: The Case of Frank Hampden Kate Follis
Play 09 Spook Stories, Chapter 2: Mrs. Andrews's Control jimsvox4
Play 10 Spook Stories, Chapter 3: The Ape Kate Follis
Play 11 Spook Stories, Chapter 4: ''Through'' Kate Follis
Play 12 Cat Stories, Chapter 1: ''Puss-Cat'' Devorah Allen
Play 13 Cat Stories, Chapter 2: There Arose a King Devorah Allen
Play 14 Crank Stories, Chapter 1: The Tragedy of Oliver Bowman Roman Noble
Play 15 Crank Stories, Chapter 2: Philip's Safety Razor Roman Noble