The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859 - 1930)

This final volume of detective stories was Doyle’s effort to put his most famous creation behind him at long last. It includes a variety of tales, from widely separated periods in the protagonist’s life, including his retirement, stories told from various points of view: Watson’s, Holmes’s, and an omniscient narrator’s. Most, of course, illustrate the detective’s famous “deduction,” but not all; some of his successes call upon resources of character which we rarely associate with him. He demonstrates compassion and empathy, and more than once he laughs. His attitude toward Dr. Watson, although occasionally brusque, includes kindness, affection, and professional respect, revealing a deep and complex friendship that endears both men to the reader. (Summary by T. A. Copeland).

Genre(s): Detective Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Preface Thomas A. Copeland
Play 01 The Adventure of the Illustrious Client Thomas A. Copeland
Play 02 The Adventure of the Blanched Soldier Thomas A. Copeland
Play 03 The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone Thomas A. Copeland
Play 04 The Adventure of the Three Gables Thomas A. Copeland
Play 05 The Adventure of the Sussex Vampire Thomas A. Copeland
Play 06 The Adventure of the Three Garridebs Thomas A. Copeland
Play 07 The Problem of Thor Bridge Thomas A. Copeland
Play 08 The Adventure of the Creeping Man Thomas A. Copeland
Play 09 The Adventure of the Lion's Mane Thomas A. Copeland
Play 10 The Adventure of the Veiled Lodger Thomas A. Copeland
Play 11 The Adventure of Shoscombe Old Place Thomas A. Copeland
Play 12 The Adventure of the Retired Colourman Thomas A. Copeland