The Broken Shaft: Tales in Mid-Ocean

Henry Norman (1858 - 1939)

This special anthology, published in 1885, is formed of seven stories, together with an introductory chapter setting up a framing narrative by Henry Norman, which is returned to at the end of each subsequent tale. This connecting narrative concerns a group of travelers on a transatlantic crossing. When their ship, the Bavaria suffers a ‘broken shaft’, they are forced to remain becalmed mid-ocean, telling stories to pass the time. - Summary by Ann Boulais

Genre(s): Anthologies

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 On Board the Bavaria by Henry Norman tjp1421
Play 02 The Upper Berth by F. Marion Crawford Patrick79
Play 03 Markheim by Robert Louis Stevenson tjp1421
Play 04 Marjory by F. Anstey Tom Penn
Play 05 The Action to the Word by Walter Herries Pollock Ulrike Denis
Play 06 My Fascinating Friend by William Archer tjp1421
Play 07 Riley, M.P. by Tighe Hopkins inkbear
Play 08 Love and Lightning by Henry Norman Ulrike Denis