The Amateur Cracksman

E. W. Hornung (1866 - 1921)

"I'd tasted blood, and it was all over with me. Why should I work when I could steal? Why settle down to some humdrum uncongenial billet, when excitement, romance, danger and a decent living were all going begging together?"- A. J. Raffles, The Ides of March.

The Amateur Cracksman is the first collection of stories about A. J. Raffles, gentleman, cricketer, and thief. After stopping his old school friend, Bunny Manders, from a desperate attempt at suicide, Raffles introduces the unsuspecting Bunny to a new way of earning a living, burglary. Though frequently horrified by Raffles's actions, the conscience-stricken Bunny stands by him through all their adventures, firm to his promise, "When you want me, I'm your man!" (Summary by Kristin Hughes)

Genre(s): Crime & Mystery Fiction

Language: English

Group: Arthur J. Raffles

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 The Ides of March Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)
Play 02 A Costume Piece Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)
Play 03 Gentlemen and Players Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)
Play 04 Le Premier Pas Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)
Play 05 Wilful Murder Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)
Play 06 Nine Points of the Law Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)
Play 07 The Return Match Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)
Play 08 The Gift of the Emperor Kristin Hughes (1974-2021)