The Adventures of Lightfoot the Deer (Version 2)

Thornton W. Burgess (1874 - 1965)

Lightfoot and his friends, Sammy Jay and Paddy Beaver, help each other through hunting season in the Green Forest. - Summary by Jude Somers

Genre(s): Animals & Nature

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01

Peter Rabbit Meets Lightfoot

Lightfoot’s New Antlers

Lightfoot Tells How His Antlers Grew

Jude Somers
Play 02

The Spirit of Fear

Sammy Jay Brings Lightfoot Word

A Game of Hide and Seek

Jude Somers
Play 03

The Merry Little Breezes Help Lightfoot

Wit Against Wit

Lightfoot Becomes Uncertain

Jude Somers
Play 04

Lightfoot’s Clever Trick

The Hunted Watches the Hunter

Lightfoot Visits Paddy the Beaver

Jude Somers
Play 05

Lightfoot and Paddy Become Partners

How Paddy Warned Lightfoot

The Three Watchers

Jude Somers
Play 06

Visitors to Paddy’s Pond

Sammy Jay Arrives

The Hunter Loses His Temper

Jude Somers
Play 07

Sammy Jay is Modest

Lightfoot Hears a Dreadful Sound

How Lightfoot Got Rid of the Hounds

Jude Somers
Play 08

Lightfoot’s Long Swim

Lightfoot Finds a Friend

The Hunter is Disappointed

Jude Somers
Play 09

The Hunter Lies in Wait

Lightfoot Does the Wise Thing

Sammy Jay Worries

Jude Somers
Play 10

The Hunting Season Ends

Mr. and Mrs. Quack are Startled

The Mystery is Solved

Jude Somers
Play 11

A Surprising Discovery

Lightfoot Sees the Stranger

A Different Game of Hide and Seek

Jude Somers
Play 12

A Startling New Footprint

Lightfoot is Reckless,

Sammy Jay Takes a Hand

Jude Somers
Play 13

The Great Fight

An Unseen Watcher

Lighfoot Discovers Love

Happy Days in the Green Forest

Jude Somers