The Adventures of Chatterer the Red Squirrel (version 3)

Thornton W. Burgess (1874 - 1965)

Chatterer the Red Squirrel finds himself in trouble again and is forced to abandon his old home. As the search for a new home begins, Chatterer's curiosity gets the better of him and a moment of carelessness causes him to stumble into a far different home than he ever imagined. This book is Thornton W. Burgess at his best as he captures the personalities and behaviors of the animals in the Green Forest delightfully well and tells a story of mischievousness and unexpected friendship. - Summary by Jill Engle

Genre(s): Animals & Nature

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Chatterer the Red Squirrel Runs for His Life, Chatterer's Last Chance, and Chatterer Tells Sammy Jay about Shadow the Weasel Jude Somers
Play 02 Chatterer Leaves the Green Forest, Chatterer Finds a Home, and Peter Rabbit Listens to the Wrong Voice Jude Somers
Play 03 How Chatterer Had Fooled Peter Rabbit, Chatterer Grows Careless, and Chatterer Grows too Curious Jude Somers
Play 04 Old Mr. Trouble Gets Chatterer at Last, What Happened next to Chatterer, and Chatterer is Sure that this is His Last Day Jude Somers
Play 05 Chatterer is Put in Prison, Chatterer Decides to Live, and Farmer Brown's Boy Tries to Make Friends Jude Somers
Play 06 Peter Rabbit Tries to Help, Chatterer Has Another Great Surprise, and Chatterer Hears the Small Voice Jude Somers
Play 07 Chatterer Has a Pleasant Surprise, Sammy Jay's Sharp Eyes, and Chatterer is Made Fun of Jude Somers
Play 08 Tommy Tit Makes Good His Boast, and Chatterer Grows very, very Bold Jude Somers