Tales Of King Arthur And The Round Table

Andrew Lang (1844 - 1912)

The tales of King Arthur and his Knights are of Celtic origin. The Celts were the people who occupied Britain at the time when the history of the country opens… It is believed that King Arthur lived in the sixth century, just after the Romans withdrew from Britain… the stories came to be handed down from father to son, in Brittany (whose people are of the same family as the Welsh) as well as in Wales and England… [story-tellers altered the stories to suit their times down through the centuries] …and so in their altered and historically inaccurate form they have reached us at the present day. …Sir Thomas Malory obtained the material for his “Morte d’Arthur,” which was written in 1470. This is the most famous of the early books of Arthurian legend, and it is from the “Morte d’Arthur” that most of the stories in this book are taken…. The language throughout has been modified with a view to making the legends more easy of study. - Summary by Book Introduction and david wales

Genre(s): Children's Fiction, Myths, Legends & Fairy Tales

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Introduction David Wales
Play 01 Part 1 Story 1 The Drawing Of The Sword David Wales
Play 02 Part 1 Story 2 The Sword Excalibur David Wales
Play 03 Part 1 Story 3 How The Round Table Began David Wales
Play 04 Part 1 Story 4 The Story Of Sir Balin David Wales
Play 05 Part 1 Story 5 What Beaumains Asked Of The King Part 1 David Wales
Play 06 Part 1 Story 5 What Beaumains Asked Of The King Part 2 David Wales
Play 07 Part 1 Story 6 How Morgan Le Fay Tried To Kill King Arthur David Wales
Play 08 Part 1 Story 7 The Passing Of Merlin David Wales
Play 09 Part 2 Story 1 The Quest Of The Holy Graal David Wales
Play 10 Part 2 Story 2 The Coming Of The Holy Graal David Wales
Play 11 Part 2 Story 3 The Adventure Of Sir Galahad David Wales
Play 12 Part 2 Story 4 How Sir Lancelot Saw A Vision And Repented Of His Sins David Wales
Play 13 Part 2 Story 5 The Adventure Of Sir Percivale David Wales
Play 14 Part 2 Story 6 An Adventure Of Sir Lancelot David Wales
Play 15 Part 2 Story 7 An Adventure Of Sir Gawaine David Wales
Play 16 Part 2 Story 8 The Adventure Of Sir Bors David Wales
Play 17 Part 2 Story 9 Adventure Of Sir Galahad David Wales
Play 18 Part 2 Story 10 Sir Lancelot Meets Sir Galahad And They Part For Ever David Wales
Play 19 Part 2 Story 11 How Sir Galahad Found The Graal And Died Of That Finding David Wales
Play 20 Part 3 Story 1 The Fight For The Queen David Wales
Play 21 Part 3 Story 2 The Fair Maid Of Astolat David Wales
Play 22 Part 4 Story 1 Lancelot And Guenevere David Wales
Play 23 Part 4 Story 2 The End Of It All David Wales