Stories of Don Quixote : written anew for young people

James Baldwin (1841 - 1925)

The romance entitled "The Achievements of the Ingenious Gentleman, Don Quixote de la Mancha," was originally written in Spanish by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra in the 17th century. It has been read and enjoyed by men and women of the most diverse tastes and conditions. The story is so simple that every one can understand it, and yet it has in it so much wisdom that the wisest may derive pleasure from it. It touches the sense of humor in every heart. It moves to pity rather than ridicule, and to tears as well as laughter. And herein lies its chief claim to greatness, that it seems to have been written not for one country nor for one age alone, but to give delight to all mankind. "It is our joyfullest modern book."

This book is not so much an abridgment of the great book by Cervantes as it is a rewriting of some of its most interesting and captivating parts. While very much of the work has necessarily been omitted, the various adventures are so related as to form a continuous narrative; and in every way, an effort is made to give a clear idea of the manner and content of the original. Although Cervantes certainly had no thought of writing a story for children, there are many passages in Don Quixote which appeal particularly to young readers; and it is hoped that this adaptation of such passages will serve a useful purpose in awakening a desire to become further acquainted with that great world's classic.

This book is dedicated to the children who read, with the hope that they will love the hero, laugh at his adventures, excuse his faults and learn wisdom from his experience.

(adapted from James Baldwin's introductory note to the book) (summery by Basquetteur)

Genre(s): Children's Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Introductory Note and Chapter 1: Getting Ready for Adventures Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 02 Chapter 2: The Adventure at the Inn Twinkle
Play 03 Chapter 3: The Adventure with the Farmer Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 04 Chapter 4: The Adventure with the Merchants Twinkle
Play 05 Chapter 5: The Library Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 06 Chapter 6: The Choosing of a Squire Linda Johnson
Play 07 Chapter 7: The Adventure with the Windmills Carol Cotter
Play 08 Chapter 8: The Adventure with the Monks Linda Johnson
Play 09 Chapter 9: The Lost Helmet Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 10 Chapter 10: The Adventure with the Sheep Linda Johnson
Play 11 Chapter 11: The Adventure with the Barber Linda Johnson
Play 12 Chapter 12: The Adventure with the Prisoners Twinkle
Play 13 Chapter 13: In the Black Mountans Linda Johnson
Play 14 Chapter 14: The Message to Dulcinea Twinkle
Play 15 Chapter 15: Sancho Panza on the Road Linda Johnson
Play 16 Chapter 16 The Ox-Cart Journey Linda Johnson
Play 17 Chapter 17: With Friends and Neighbors Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 18 Chapter 18: In Search of Dulcinea Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 19 Chapter 19: The Strolling Players Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 20 Chapter 20: The Knight of the Mirrors Aaron M. Lebowitz
Play 21 Chapter 21: The Adventure with the Lions Twinkle
Play 22 Chapter 22: The Enchanted Bark Linda Johnson
Play 23 Chapter 23: The Duke and the Duchess Linda Johnson
Play 24 Chapter 24: The Wooden-Peg Horse Linda Johnson
Play 25 Chapter 25: Sancho in His Island Twinkle
Play 26 Chapter 26: The Innkeeper of Saragossa Linda Johnson
Play 27 Chapter 27: The Knight of the White Moon Linda Johnson
Play 28 Chapter 28: The Last Adventure of them All Twinkle