Stories from the Faerie Queen

Edmund SPENSER (1552 - 1599) and Jean LANG (1867 - 1932)

A major work by Spenser, The Faerie Queen, was published between 1590 and 1596. As an allegorical work, it can be read on many levels. According to Jeanie Lang, Spenser always looked for the beautiful and the good when he wrote. Lang said, "There are many stories in The Faerie Queen, and out of these all I have told you only eight." The eight are "Una and the Lion," "St. Gergoe and the Dragon," "Britomart and the Magic Mirror," "The Quest of Sir Gregory," "Pastorella," "Cambell and Triamond," "Marinell the Sea-Nymph's Son," and "Flormell and the Witch." - Summary by Bill Boerst

Genre(s): Children's Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Chapter 1 - Una and the Lion Bill Boerst
Play 02 Chapter 2 - St. George and the Dragon Bill Boerst
Play 03 Chapter 3 - Britomart and the Magic Mirror Bill Boerst
Play 04 Chapter 4 - The Quest of Sir Guyon Bill Boerst
Play 05 Chapter 5 - Pastorella Bill Boerst
Play 06 Chapter 6 - Cambell and Triamond Bill Boerst
Play 07 Chapter 7 - Marinell, the Sea-Nymph's Son Bill Boerst
Play 08 Chapter 8 - Florimell and the Witch Bill Boerst