The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

Edgar James Banks (1866 - 1945)

The 7 Wonders of the Ancient World is a list of masterpieces of architecture and art of classical antiquity. First compiled in the second century BC, it served as a guidebook for the interested Hellenic traveller. This small book gives an introduction to all the entries on the list: The Pyramid of Khufu, the Walls of Babylon, the Satue of the Olympian Zeus, the Temple of Diana (or Artemis), the Tomb of King Mausolus, the Colossus of Rhodes, and the Pharos of Alexandria. Sadly for the modern tourist, all but the Pyramid of Giza have been destroyed centuries ago. (Summary by Availle.)

Genre(s): Art, Design & Architecture, Antiquity

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Preface Ikraduya
Play 01 I The Pyramid of Khufu THBosc
Play 02 II The Walls of Babylon Linda Johnson
Play 03 III The Statue of the Olympian Zeus Michael Fischer
Play 04 IV The Temple of Diana Kate Follis
Play 05 V The Tomb of King Mausolus Kate Follis
Play 06 VI The Colossus of Rhodes realisticspeakers
Play 07 VII The Pharos of Alexandria realisticspeakers