Robinson Crusoe (version 2)

Daniel Defoe (c.1660 - 1731)

Shipwrecked and castaway, Daniel DeFoe’s hard-luck character is still the standard for “growing where you’re planted.” Captured by pirates, he makes his break in a small boat and undergoes desperate adventures before winning his way back to civilization. But Crusoe proves willing to chance his luck a second time when, after sweating his way to prosperity as a planter in Brazil, he undertakes a voyage that isn’t needful… and is marooned on a small island off South America.

Crusoe shows the value of single-minded labor as he pursues ways to feed, shelter, and clothe himself. His ardent wish is to escape his island – why is it that the only people who come there are cannibals? But he spends more than two decades in isolation before acquiring a sidekick – the man Friday you’ve probably heard of. And who would guess his way to salvation would depend on leading a last-ditch fight against a shipful of mutineers?

For other castaway stories inspired by “Robinson Crusoe”, listen to “The Swiss Family Robinson” ( and “The Mysterious Island” ( (Summary by Mark F. Smith)

Genre(s): Action & Adventure Fiction, General Fiction, Nautical & Marine Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Chapter 1: Start in Life Mark F. Smith
Play 02 Chapter 2: Slavery & Escape Mark F. Smith
Play 03 Chapter 3a: Wrecked On a Desert Island, Part 1 Mark F. Smith
Play 04 Chapter 3b, Part 2 Mark F. Smith
Play 05 Chapter 4a: First Weeks On the Island, Part 1 Mark F. Smith
Play 06 Chapter 4b, Part 2 Mark F. Smith
Play 07 Chapter 5: Builds a House - The Journal Mark F. Smith
Play 08 Chapter 6: Ill and Conscience-Stricken Mark F. Smith
Play 09 Chapter 7: Agricultural Experience Mark F. Smith
Play 10 Chapter 8: Surveys His Position Mark F. Smith
Play 11 Chapter 9: A Boat Mark F. Smith
Play 12 Chapter 10: Tames Goats Mark F. Smith
Play 13 Chapter 11: Finds Print of Man's Foot on the Sand Mark F. Smith
Play 14 Chapter 12: A Cave Retreat Mark F. Smith
Play 15 Chapter 13: Wreck of a Spanish Ship Mark F. Smith
Play 16 Chapter 14: A Dream Realized Mark F. Smith
Play 17 Chapter 15: Friday's Education Mark F. Smith
Play 18 Chapter 16: Rescue of Prisoners From Cannibals Mark F. Smith
Play 19 Chapter 17: Visit of Mutineers Mark F. Smith
Play 20 Chapter 18: The Ship Recovered Mark F. Smith
Play 21 Chapter 19: Return to England Mark F. Smith
Play 22 Chapter 20: Fight Between Friday and a Bear Mark F. Smith