Pirates of Venus

Edgar Rice Burroughs (1875 - 1950)

Edgar Rice Burroughs, of Tarzan fame, wrote many great adventure stories that were serialized in the magazines of t he 1930s. This is the first book in what is called the Venus series and starts it off with tons of action and excitement. It was published as a book in 1934. Our hero Carson accidentally lands on the mysterious, cloud-covered planet of Venus (he was shooting for Mars, believing Venus inhospitable to all life). Landing there he finds that the clouds conceal a wondrous secret: the strikingly beautiful yet deadly world of Amtor. In Amtor, cities of immortal beings flourish in giant trees reaching thousands of feet into the sky; ferocious beasts stalk the wilderness below; rare flashes of sunlight precipitate devastating storms; and the inhabitants believe their world is saucer-shaped with a fiery center and an icy rim. Stranded on Amtor after his spaceship crashes, astronaut Carson Napier is swept into a world where revolution is ripe, the love of a princess carries a dear price, and death can come as easily from the blade of a sword as from the ray of a futuristic gun. And yes, he does become a pirate. If you are looking for a pure adventure story, this is still a great one. (Summary by phil c)

Genre(s): Action & Adventure Fiction, Fantasy Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Carson Napier Phil Chenevert
Play 02 Off for Mars Phil Chenevert
Play 03 Rushing Toward Venus Phil Chenevert
Play 04 To the House of the King Phil Chenevert
Play 05 The Girl in the Garden Phil Chenevert
Play 06 Gathering Tarel Phil Chenevert
Play 07 By Kamlot’s Grave Phil Chenevert
Play 08 On Board the Sofal Phil Chenevert
Play 09 Soldiers of Liberty Phil Chenevert
Play 10 Mutiny Phil Chenevert
Play 11 Duare Phil Chenevert
Play 12 “A Ship!” Phil Chenevert
Play 13 Catastrophe Phil Chenevert
Play 14 Storm Phil Chenevert