book-cover-large

One Thing Needful

Mary Elizabeth BRADDON (1835 - 1915)

Can starving children be grateful for the education they receive if, when they ask for food, rich people give them a stone? This is the question in the heart of this rich psychological novel. Lady Lashmore is a typical lady of her time, ruling every aspect of her household and constantly complaining that the poor people in the factory ten miles away bother her. Things change when her son, Lord Lashmore, falls in love with a poor woman. Only then does he understand what is the one thing they need most. Only then does he mature, develop empathy, and see what are the real important things in life. This is a coming of age story, a love story, but, most of all, a story about prejudice and small revolutions. For the world would never be the same and the young generation sees social classes differently. This novel is perfect for fans of Charlotte Bronte and Elizabeth Gaskell. Readers who love Mary Elizabeth Braddon's other novels will not be disappointed. - Summary by Stav Nisser.

Genre(s): Romance, Published 1800 -1900

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Chapter 1 Mark Nelson
00:22:41
Play 02 Chapter 2 Mark Nelson
00:15:58
Play 03 Chapter 3 Mark Nelson
00:28:05
Play 04 Chapter 4 Mark Nelson
00:39:15
Play 05 Chapter 5 Jim Locke
00:27:26
Play 06 Chapter 6 Mark Nelson
00:40:53
Play 07 Chapter 7 Mark Nelson
01:11:20
Play 08 Chapter 8 Jim Locke
00:15:36
Play 09 Chapter 9, part 1 Jim Locke
00:36:30
Play 10 Chapter 9, part 2 Jim Locke
00:49:21
Play 11 Chapter 10 Jim Locke
00:43:14
Play 12 Chapter 11 Jim Locke
00:16:28
Play 13 Chapter 12 Jim Locke
00:19:38
Play 14 Chapter 13 Jim Locke
00:22:19
Play 15 Chapter 14 Jim Locke
00:29:55
Play 16 Chapter 15 Jim Locke
00:11:51
Play 17 Chapter 16 Jim Locke
00:12:52
Play 18 Chapter 17 Jim Locke
00:35:26
Play 19 Chapter 18 Jim Locke
00:28:25
Play 20 Chapter 19 Jim Locke
00:29:59
Play 21 Chapter 20 Jim Locke
00:12:26
Play 22 Chapter 21 Jim Locke
00:46:33
Play 23 Chapter 22 Jim Locke
00:35:01