Robert Louis Stevenson (1850 - 1894)

David Balfour, a lad of seventeen and newly orphaned, is directed to go and live with his rich uncle, the master of the estate of Shaws in the lowlands of Scotland near Edinburgh. His uncle, Ebenezer (as close a miser as Dickens' Ebenezer Scrooge), is shocked to suddenly have his young relative descend on him and tries to rid himself of David with an arranged accident. Failing that, he pays the captain of a brig to kidnap David and sell him into slavery in Carolina.

A collision in the fog brings onboard the brig a survivor, Alan Breck Stewart, who is carrying a dangerous amount of gold on his person. David warns him of a plan by the brig's captain and crew to overpower him and seize the money, and then finds himself fighting alongside Alan in a battle royale. By good fortune, Alan is handy with a sword and they have access to the firearms locker, and the pair so completely defeat the crew that barely enough hands remain to sail her. Limping to port, she is holed by rocks, and David finds himself a castaway.

Being in Alan's presence continues to be a chancey business. David is talking to Colin Roy Campbell, the King's Factor who has been oppressing Alan's people, when the man is shot to death, and David is chased as an accomplice. The two "take to the heather" and barely survive near brushes with redcoats as they thread through the Trossachs and other highland ranges of Scotland. Only after an arduous weeks-long trek through territory where they are actively hunted do they emerge in the more settled districts around the river Forth, only to find guards upon the bridge. With no money remaining, they must somehow cross to Queensferry, find Ebenezer's lawyer, and lay claim to David's inheritance in order to send Alan safely on to France. (summary by Mark F. Smith)

Genre(s): Children's Fiction, Action & Adventure Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Preface, Dedication, Disclaimer Mark F. Smith
Play 01 I Journey to the House of Shaws Mark F. Smith
Play 02 I Come to My Journey’s End Mark F. Smith
Play 03 I Make Acquaintance of My Uncle Mark F. Smith
Play 04 I Run a Great Danger in the House of Shaws Mark F. Smith
Play 05 I Go to the Queen’s Ferry Mark F. Smith
Play 06 What Befell at the Queen’s Ferry Mark F. Smith
Play 07 I Go to Sea in the Brig Mark F. Smith
Play 08 The Round House Mark F. Smith
Play 09 The Man With the Belt of Gold Mark F. Smith
Play 10 Siege of the Roundhouse Mark F. Smith
Play 11 The Captain Knuckles Under Mark F. Smith
Play 12 I Hear of the Red Fox Mark F. Smith
Play 13 The Loss of the Brig Mark F. Smith
Play 14 The Islet Mark F. Smith
Play 15 The Lad With the Silver Button: Through the Isle of Mull Mark F. Smith
Play 16 The Lad With the Silver Button: Across Morven Mark F. Smith
Play 17 The Death of the Red Fox Mark F. Smith
Play 18 Talk With Alan in the Wood of Lettermore Mark F. Smith
Play 19 The House of Fear Mark F. Smith
Play 20 The Flight in the Heather: The Rocks Mark F. Smith
Play 21 The Heugh of Corrynakiegh Mark F. Smith
Play 22 The Moor Mark F. Smith
Play 23 Cluny’s Cage Mark F. Smith
Play 24 The Quarrel Mark F. Smith
Play 25 In Balquhidder Mark F. Smith
Play 26 End of the Flight: We Pass the Forth Mark F. Smith
Play 27 I Come to Mr. Rankeillor Mark F. Smith
Play 28 I Go in Quest of my Inheritance Mark F. Smith
Play 29 I Come Into My Kingdom Mark F. Smith
Play 30 Good-bye Mark F. Smith