Hagar of the Pawn-Shop

Fergus Hume (1859 - 1932)

Hagar Stanley, a beautiful young Gypsy, is driven by sexual harassment to leave her tribe and seek refuge with her uncle Jacob, a miserly London pawnbroker. He dies after teaching Hagar the business, and she takes over running the popshop till the legitimate heir can be traced. In the odd assortment of objects that pass across her counter, Hagar uncovers one mystery after another. Some items are linked to actual crimes, others to iniquitous acts of human deceit and betrayal. Whether investigating independently or alongside the police, Hagar combines her native shrewdness with woman's intuition to help untangle the webs of wickedness she encounters, that justice might prevail in the end. Though the individual mysteries in Hagar of the Pawn-shop may be read separately, they are so arranged by Fergus Hume as to form a linked set, with characters from earlier stories popping up again later on, one as Hagar's love interest and another as her nemesis. - Summary by Grant Hurlock

Genre(s): Crime & Mystery Fiction, Culture & Heritage Fiction, Short Stories

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 The Coming of Hagar Grant Hurlock
Play 02 The First Customer and the Florentine Dante Grant Hurlock
Play 03 The Second Customer and the Amber Beads Grant Hurlock
Play 04 The Third Customer and the Jade Idol Grant Hurlock
Play 05 The Fourth Customer and the Crucifix Grant Hurlock
Play 06 The Fifth Customer and the Copper Key Grant Hurlock
Play 07 The Sixth Customer and the Silver Teapot Grant Hurlock
Play 08 The Seventh Customer and the Mandarin Grant Hurlock
Play 09 The Eighth Customer and the Pair of Boots Grant Hurlock
Play 10 The Ninth Customer and the Casket Grant Hurlock
Play 11 The Tenth Customer and the Persian Ring Grant Hurlock
Play 12 The Passing of Hagar Grant Hurlock