From the Deep Woods to Civilization: Chapters in the Autobiography of an Indian

Charles Alexander Eastman (1858 - 1939)

From the Deep Woods to Civilization is the sequel to Indian Boyhood. Charles Eastman (Ohiyesa) gives his account of what it was like to transition from the ways of his Indian life to that of the white man. His father, long thought dead, had converted to Christianity and wished the same for his son as well as receiving education in the white man's school. At the age of 15, Ohiyesa must learn to balance the old familiar life of the American Indian with that of the new in the world of the white man, one of his first acts being the cutting of his long hair and attending school. It also chronicles his life of college to becoming a doctor at Pine Ridge in South Dakota, his marriage to Elaine Goodale, and his involvement in politics, the YMCA, and Boy Scouts of America. ( Laura Victoria)

Genre(s): Biography & Autobiography

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Forward Laura Victoria
Play 01 The Way Opens Laura Victoria
Play 02 My First School Days Laura Victoria
Play 03 On the White Man's Trail Laura Victoria
Play 04 College Life in the West Laura Victoria
Play 05 College Life in the East Laura Victoria
Play 06 A Doctor Among the Indians Laura Victoria
Play 07 The Ghost Dance War Laura Victoria
Play 08 War with the Politicians Laura Victoria
Play 09 Civilization as Preached and Practised Laura Victoria
Play 10 At the Nation's Capital Laura Victoria
Play 11 Back to the Woods Laura Victoria
Play 12 The Soul of the White Man Laura Victoria