Emma McChesney and Company

Edna Ferber (1885 - 1968)

This is the final volume in the trilogy following the smart, stylish, divorced and independent businesswoman Emma McChesney in her career from stenographer, then drummer (traveling salesman) to owner of her own company. (The first was Roast Beef, Medium and the second Personality Plus, both in the LibriVox catalog). Edna Ferber first gained success with these stories and later went on to write Show Boat, Giant and other well known books. First published in 1915, Emma's son, Jock, has moved to Chicago with his new wife. Emma decides to sell in South America and proves she has not lost her magic touch. Emma gets involved in romance, saving a business and many other things. Emma symbolizes the ideal woman at the dawn of the twentieth century: sharp, capable, charming, and progressive. (Summary by Phil Chenevert)

Genre(s): General Fiction

Language: English

Group: Emma McChesney - trilogy

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 1 - BROADWAY TO BUENOS AIRES Phil Chenevert
Play 02 2 - THANKS TO MISS MORRISSEY Phil Chenevert
Play 03 3 - A CLOSER CORPORATION Phil Chenevert
Play 04 4 - BLUE SERGE Phil Chenevert
Play 05 5 - "HOOPS, MY DEAR!" Phil Chenevert
Play 06 6 - SISTERS UNDER THEIR SKIN Phil Chenevert
Play 07 7 - AN ETUDE FOR EMMA Phil Chenevert