Clouds of Witness

Dorothy L. Sayers (1893 - 1957)

While Lord Peter Wimsey is on holiday in the wilds of Corsica, his brother Gerald, Duke of Denver, is charged with the murder of their sister Mary's fiance. According to newspaper reports, on October 13th the shooting party at the Duke's Lodge had retired for the night when, at 3 a.m. of a bitterly cold and wet morning, his sister found him just outside the conservatory door, leaning over the dead body of her betrothed, Dennis Cathcart.

Learning of his brother’s indictment for murder, Lord Peter and Bunter - his invaluable man servant qua assistant sleuth - fly to the scene. Scotland Yard is already at work, in the person of Detective Inspector Charles Parker, with whom Lord Peter had recently solved the Battersea Mystery. (See Dorothy Sayers’ first Lord Peter Wimsey novel, “Whose Body?”)

What were the Duke of Denver, Lady Mary and Dennis Cathcart doing there on such a night, at such a time? True, Cathcart had angrily left the house hours earlier. But why, in that weather, had he stayed out? If the Duke, as he claimed, came on the body while returning from a stroll, why such nocturnal wanderings in the fiercest of weather? What led Lady Mary to come down from her bedroom in the middle of the night in order to go to, of all places, the conservatory?

The mystery's apparently independent but closely intertwined threads are disentangled by the joint efforts of Lord Peter Wimsey, his friend Chief Inspector Parker, and the inestimable Bunter. - Summary by Kirsten Wever

Genre(s): Crime & Mystery Fiction, Detective Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Chapter 1: Of His Malice Aforethought Kirsten Wever
Play 02 Chapter 2: The Green-Eyed Cat Kirsten Wever
Play 03 Chapter 3: Mudstains and Bloodstains Kirsten Wever
Play 04 Chapter 4: —And His Daughter, Much-Afraid Kirsten Wever
Play 05 Chapter 5: The Rue St. Honoré and the Rue de la Paix Kirsten Wever
Play 06 Chapter 6: Mary Quite Contrary Kirsten Wever
Play 07 Chapter 7: The Club and the Bullet Kirsten Wever
Play 08 Chapter 8: Mr. Parker Takes Notes Kirsten Wever
Play 09 Chapter 9: Goyles Kirsten Wever
Play 10 Chapter 10: Nothing Abides at the Noon Kirsten Wever
Play 11 Chapter 11: Meribah Kirsten Wever
Play 12 Chapter 12: The Alibi Kirsten Wever
Play 13 Chapter 13: Manon Kirsten Wever
Play 14 Chapter 14: The Edge of the Axe Towards Him Kirsten Wever
Play 15 Chapter 15: Bar Falling Kirsten Wever
Play 16 Chapter 16: The Second String Kirsten Wever
Play 17 Chapter 17: The Eloquent Dead Kirsten Wever
Play 18 Chapter 18: The Speech for the Defense Kirsten Wever
Play 19 Chapter 19: Who Goes Home? Kirsten Wever