Clergymen Of The Church Of England

Anthony Trollope (1815 - 1882)

This 1866 book was published in a time of great change in the Church of England. Trollope began as a High Church adherent and then worked his way to a Broad Church stance, a theological liberalism (toleration of belief and interpretation, regard for the individual conscience, a willingness to tolerate the ambiguity of finding truth in the extremes as well as the middle). This book deals with a crisis of faith and a crisis of structural form in the Victorian Church of England. It possesses all the interesting attributes of the novelist’s style. Note on the final chapter: John William Colenso (1814 – 1883) was a British mathematician, theologian, Biblical scholar and social activist, who was the first Church of England Bishop of Natal. His progressive views on biblical criticism and treatment of African natives were controversial. - Summary by David Wales

Genre(s): Religion, Modern (19th C)

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 The Modern English Archbishop David Wales
Play 02 English Bishops, Old And New David Wales
Play 03 The Normal Dean Of The Present Day David Wales
Play 04 The Archdeacon David Wales
Play 05 The Parson Of The Parish David Wales
Play 06 The Town Incumbent David Wales
Play 07 The College Fellow Who Has Taken Orders David Wales
Play 08 The Curate In A Populous Parish David Wales
Play 09 The Irish Beneficed Clergyman David Wales
Play 10 The Clergyman Who Subscribes For Colenso David Wales