Christopher Quarles College Professor and Master Detective

Percy James BREBNER (1864 - 1922)

Christopher Quarles is a professor of philosophy and a private consulting detective. Quarles, along with his granddaughter Zena, assists Police Detective Murray Wigan in solving various crimes and mysteries in Victorian England. Whereas the police look for facts and then form a theory of a case, Quarles first forms a theory, often seemingly absurd and based on little more than intuition, then seeks facts in support of it. Of course, to the astonishment of all concerned, Quarles' theories usually prove to be quite right! Christopher Quarles College Professor and Master Detective was written by Percy James Brebner (1864-1922) and first published in 1914, a time when motor cars and electric lights were new marvels of the industrial age. (Summary by Tony Posante)

Genre(s): Action & Adventure Fiction, General Fiction, Detective Fiction

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 01 - The Affair of the Ivory Boxes Tony Posante
Play 02 02 - The Identity of the Final Victim Tony Posante
Play 03 03 - The Riddle of the Circular Counters Tony Posante
Play 04 04 - The Strange Case of Michael Hall Tony Posante
Play 05 05 - The Evidence of the Cigarette-end Tony Posante
Play 06 06 - The Mystery of "Old Mrs. Jardine" Tony Posante
Play 07 07 - The Death-trap in the Tudor Room Tony Posante
Play 08 08 - The Mystery of Cross Roads Farm Tony Posante
Play 09 09 - The Conundrum of the Golf Links Tony Posante
Play 10 10 - The Diamond Necklace Scandal Tony Posante
Play 11 11 - The Disappearance of Dr. Smith Tony Posante
Play 12 12 - The Affair of the Stolen Gold Tony Posante
Play 13 13 - The Will of the Eccentric Mr. Frisby Tony Posante
Play 14 14 - The Case of the Murdered Financier Tony Posante
Play 15 15 - The Strange Affair of the Florentine Chest Tony Posante
Play 16 16 - The Search for the Missing Fortune Tony Posante