Canoeing in the Wilderness

Henry David THOREAU (1817 - 1862)

A highly descriptive and engaging narrative from one of America's beloved nature writers, this short piece shows well Thoreau's great love of the early American wilderness. Be transported to the deep woods of Maine and share in both Thoreau's delight in nature and also his admiration of those others who have a deeper connection with the natural world around them. (Summary by Falassewen)

Genre(s): Nature, Exploration

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 00 Introduction Melissa Green
00:03:24
Play 01 Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, July 20-23, 1857 Melissa Green
00:09:08
Play 02 Friday, July 24 Melissa Green
00:22:27
Play 03 Saturday, July 25 Melissa Green
00:14:13
Play 04 Sunday, July 26 Melissa Green
00:15:45
Play 05 Monday, July 27 Melissa Green
00:20:33
Play 06 Tuesday, July 28 Melissa Green
00:18:16
Play 07 Wednesday, July 29 Melissa Green
00:21:11
Play 08 Thursday, July 30 Melissa Green
00:14:41
Play 09 Friday, July 31 Melissa Green
00:07:57
Play 10 Saturday, Sunday, Monday August 1-3 Melissa Green
00:14:17