The Testimony of the Suns, and other Poems

George STERLING (1869 - 1926)

This is the first published volume of poetry by Californian author and poet George Sterling. These poems are the beginning of Sterling's great career as a poet, and include a number of poems in the style for which he would become famous. That style is dark and with supernatural elements, in the tradition of Thomas Hood and Edgar Allan Poe. - Summary by Carolin

Genre(s): Poetry

Language: English

Section Chapter Reader Time
Play 01 Dedication to Ambrose Bierce Eva Davis
00:04:33
Play 02 Memorial Day, 1901 Sonia
00:08:37
Play 03 Poesy CJ Baars
00:03:50
Play 04 The City of Music Eva Davis
00:01:07
Play 05 To one Loved Eva Davis
00:01:57
Play 06 The Summer of the Gods Eva Davis
00:01:10
Play 07 The Lords of Pain Nemo
00:01:03
Play 08 The Fog Siren Jude
00:01:25
Play 09 To Miss Constance Crawley in 'Everyman' H.K. Virgil
00:00:49
Play 10 To Imagination H.K. Virgil
00:01:23
Play 11 To a Lily Caitlin Audra
00:01:30
Play 12 'With the Strength of Dreams' H.K. Virgil
00:00:54
Play 13 The Testimony of the Suns Sonia
00:31:44
Play 14 Music Eva Davis
00:11:27
Play 15 A White Rose Nemo
00:02:21
Play 16 The Soul's Exile Nemo
00:01:30
Play 17 In the Beginning Nemo
00:01:54
Play 18 Memory of the Dead Caitlin Audra
00:01:04
Play 19 To my Wife Sonia
00:01:00
Play 20 The Haunting Ian King
00:01:15
Play 21 War Ian King
00:01:15
Play 22 Nightmare Nemo
00:01:13
Play 23 The Spirit of Beauty Sonia
00:03:08
Play 24 To Katherine Sonia
00:01:05
Play 25 Mystery Nemo
00:00:57
Play 26 To my Sister Sonia
00:02:49
Play 27 The Poets Sonia
00:01:06
Play 28 Reincarnation Ian King
00:01:17
Play 29 On Reading the Poems of Father Tabb Sonia
00:00:43
Play 30 The Parting Sonia
00:01:14
Play 31 Words for Lange's 'Blumenlied' Sonia
00:00:50
Play 32 The Altar-Flame Sonia
00:01:06
Play 33 To One Asking Lighter Songs Sonia
00:01:19
Play 34 The Sea-Fog Sonia
00:01:08
Play 35 The Nile Sonia
00:01:04
Play 36 Darkness Sonia
00:01:27
Play 37 The Ideal Sonia
00:01:07
Play 38 To Colonel John S. Engs Sonia
00:00:31
Play 39 'Sad Sea-Horizons' Sonia
00:01:52
Play 40 Evening Sonia
00:01:11
Play 41 Ultima Thule Sonia
00:01:28
Play 42 The Swoon Sonia
00:01:05
Play 43 The City and the Silence Nemo
00:01:07
Play 44 The Directory Sonia
00:01:11